WE SHALL NOT CEASE FROM EXPLORATION, a collection of poems by Raymond S


WE SHALL NOT CEASE FROM EXPLORATION, a collection of poems by Raymond S
(Available at lulu.com – click on link above)

“And the end of all our exploring will be to arrive where we started and know the place for the first time.”  T. S. Eliot, Little Gidding

Like all of us, I live in two places at the same time.

Where my body happens to be and where my mind is taking me.

When I was a boy and my mind was a streaming cornucopia of half finished thoughts and wild and incomplete imaginings and my skinny little body was an effortless place to inhabit, I lived more in the life of the mind than in this “all too solid flesh” until a mother’s call, a skinned knee, or the sudden grumblings of hunger brought me crashing back to the ground like an messy Flash Gordon landing rather than the swirling reassembling in Scottie’s Transporter.

When my mother saw me coming in the kitchen door, obeying her third or fourth or “and this is final!” call, my clothes filthy, my knee bleeding, and my face smudged with cobwebs or dirt, she would always yell, “For God’s sake, where have you been now?”

She didn’t know half of it and my explanations usually led both of us astray.

Leave a comment